FEDERAL FINANCIAL RELIEF Mark Sidway
With the current unemployment rate at 3%, millions of Americans are looking for work and unable to find it. During that period, people still need to pay rent, put food on the table, and take care of their loved ones. Unemployment insurance provides crucial support to Americans who are displaced from work due to no fault of their own.
UI benefits are distributed at the state level. And every state has its own unique rule set regarding unemployment cash payouts and unemployment qualifications. If you’re wondering how Oregon handles unemployment, you’ve come to the right place. The Oregon unemployment rate is currently at 4%, making it slightly higher than the national average.
Here are all of the rules and requirements surrounding Orgeon’s unemployment.
While you may think that simply not having a job qualifies you as “unemployed,” it’s a little more complicated than that. The Bureau of Labor Statistics defines unemployed as someone who:
This also includes those who have been temporarily laid off and are awaiting reworking conditions (e.g., contractors, union workers, etc.)
Every state has its own unique unemployment benefits system. To receive benefits in Oregon, you must (by the state of Oregon unemployment laws) have the following qualities.
The minimum amount of wages in Oregon is $1,000 worth of wages during the entire “base period” and at least 1.5x the amount of your highest paying quarter during all of the other combined quarters of your “base period.” In this case, “base period” refers to the four quarters (i.e., the year) before you were fired or quit.
So, you must have made at least $1,000 during your last 4 quarters of work. And you must have earned at least 1.5x your highest-earning quarter in the other 3 quarters.
When you see the words “no fault of your own” it may sound a little confusing at first. You might be wondering, “can I get unemployment if I was fired?” Let’s take a closer look at what “no fault of your own means.”
If you were laid off, you almost certainly qualify for unemployment benefits. For example, your company may have had a RIF (reduction in force) or mass layoffs. You could not control that situation.
You may be wondering, “can you get unemployment if you are fired?”
The answer is a little tricky. If you were fired for gross misconduct or because of something you were at fault for (i.e., breaking policy, participating in illegal behaviors, etc.) you will not qualify for State of Oregon unemployment benefits. However, if you were fired due to:
Then you may still qualify for unemployment. The easiest way to figure this out is to fill out the unemployment paperwork.
Again, this depends. If you quit of your own will without reason, then you won’t qualify. However, if you quit due to circumstances outside of your control (i.e., you were sexually harassed, you moved to stay with family, etc.), you will likely still qualify for unemployment benefits.
There are three places you can apply for unemployment in Oregon.
To file your claim online, simply visit the Oregon unemployment online claim system. Filing for Oregon unemployment online is the easiest way to start your claim. But, sometimes that’s not feasible. So, let’s look at some of the other options.
You can also call the Oregon unemployment phone number at 1-877-345-3484 to apply for benefits. Unlike applying online, the Oregon unemployment office phone number allows you to apply without internet access — though filing an Oregon unemployment claim by phone can often take longer than completing your claim digitally.
There are a variety of unemployment offices across Oregon where you can file your claim. These include:
To see a full list of unemployment offices in Oregon, click here. We recommend visiting on Tuesday – Friday. Monday’s typically have the longest Oregon unemployment weekly claim line.
To continue to receive unemployment in OR, you must prove the following weekly:
This means that you must be willing to accept the regular pay and hours of the type of work you’re applying for, and you have to be willing to commute “a reasonable” distance.
Here’s where things get interesting. While many other states simply review your “actively seeking work” status on a case-by-case basis. In Oregon, you must complete 5 work searching activities per week to remain eligible.
Two of these work searching activities must result in direct contact with a job (i.e., filling out resumes, making phone calls, etc.)
Yes! Maybe! No… The real answer to, “can you get unemployment if you are fired?” is maybe.
You may or may not be eligible for Oregon state unemployment benefits if you quit your job or you were fired. Typically, if you quit or where fired due to circumstances outside of your control (e.g., you quit due to sexual harassment, you were fired due to lack of skill, etc.) then you qualify for unemployment insurance in Oregon. However, if you were fired due to gross misconduct or you quit due to personal reasons, you will not qualify for unemployment.
The maximum weekly payout in Oregon is $538 and the minimum is $126. The exact amount that you get paid will be based upon how much you earned in the four quarters prior to filling out your unemployment claim. You will earn 1.25% of your total earnings during those four periods (up to $538.)
To get a better estimate of how much your unemployment payouts will be, check out the Oregon unemployment calculator.
Once your claim is approved, you will start receiving unemployment benefits a week from that date. The first week is a “grace period” where you will not receive anything. After that first week, your benefits will play role in weekly — as long as you continue to meet the eligibility requirements.
In general, your benefits will last until you find another job. However, there is a maximum amount of time. Oregon benefits are available for up to 26 weeks — except in rare circumstances.
Once you start getting your paycheck, you may think that you’ve completed the unemployment process. Unfortunately, you will be making weekly claim check-ins where you will have to identify your job-seeking effort. In addition, you must comply with the rules set forth by the State of Oregon Employment Office (formerly located at WorkingInOregon.com)
You must identify the office before you leave town
You must identify the office if you start your own business
You must identify the office if you get a part-time or temp job
Really, you have to keep Oregon in-the-loop when it comes to you earning any amount of money or doing anything that interferes with your ability to seek work.
Yes! If your claim was denied, you will receive a written letter outlining the reason. There are a variety of reasons that claims are denied, including:
When you receive the decline letter, you can appeal that decision within 20 days. Once appealed, a judge will review your case. If they also decline your claim, you can resubmit your appeal to the Oregon Employment Appeals Board. If that is also declined, you can submit an appeal to the Oregon Court of Appeals — which is the last step in the appeals process.
Federal Financial Relief Expert
Hey everyone I'm Mark. I'm obsessed with finding programs and loopholes for getting people the financial help they deserve. There are billions of dollars available to help people just like you. See if you're eligible today!
Introducing Federal Financial CreditRestore +
Poor credit costs you big. Higher car payments, more credit card interest, you name it. Get your credit fixed NOW with the official Federal Financial CreditRestore + program and get your financial life back on-track.
Sign up today and take full advantage—initial consultation is totally FREE.Take Advantage
Questions? Get in touch